
 

 

Open Burning (Unincorporated Polk County) 
 
This mailer provides information about open burning regulations 
affecting you, your neighbors or smoke sensitive individuals 
living in your area.  
 
Did you know?  It is illegal to burn these materials in an outdoor fire 
anywhere in Polk County. 

 Garbage 
 Paint 
 Cardboard 
 Tires 
 Plastics Containers 
 Metals 
 Asphalt 
 Petroleum Products 
 Lumber 
 Paper 
 Demolition Debris 
 Construction Debris 
 Household Waste 

 
ALLOWED materials (Unincorporated Polk County, Iowa) Landscape 
waste originating on your property: yard waste, grass clippings, 
leaves, twigs, small branches, etc.  Burning of hauled-in landscape 
waste is prohibited.  The material must originate or grow on your 
own property. 

 
Regulatory Notice:  Currently open burning is allowed by regulation in 
unincorporated Polk County. However, open burning may be restricted if a public 
nuisance is created by the unreasonable or excessive open burning activities. 

 
 Under Polk County regulations & Iowa Code the open burning of 

certain materials is illegal and subject to penalties. 
   

 PCBOH Chapter V, Section 5-7 prohibits open burning of any 
hazardous waste, animal waste, animal bedding materials, oils, 
any household waste, garbage, refuse, plastics, construction 
materials, tires, wire, insulation, dimensional lumber within Polk 
County. 
 

 Violations may result in legal action including fines of $100-$500. 
 
 

 

If you have, questions or comments regarding open burning within Polk County 
contact us at (515)-286-3705 or Email: airquality@polkcountyiowa.gov 

 


