# POLK COUNTY ZONING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

The Polk County Zoning Commission held their regularly scheduled meeting on Monday, June 27, 2022 at 7:00 P.M. in Conference Room A of the Polk County Public Works Department, Planning & Development Division, 5885 NE 14<sup>th</sup> Street, Des Moines, Iowa. A virtual attendance option was also provided per the instructions contained on the final meeting agenda.

- A) Roll Call Members Present: Frank Steinbach, Michael Fairchild, Merle Hicks, Maryfrances Evans, and Kelly Garoutte. Absent: Pennie Carroll. Also present from the Polk County Public Works Department: Bret VandeLune, Planning and Development Manager; Brian McDonough, Land Use Planning Coordinator; Chris Meeks, Planner; Tommy Howard, Planner; and Ashley Davidson, Recording Secretary
- B) Acceptance of the March 28, 2022 meeting minutes:

Motion was made by Garoutte and seconded by Evans to approve the minutes as presented.

Vote: Yea: Steinbach, Hicks, Evans, and Garoutte. Nay: None. Abstain: Fairchild. Absent: Carroll

A motion was made to amend the agenda order by Fairchild and seconded by Hicks, to consider the New Business Action item before the Advertised Public Hearing item.

Vote: Yea: Steinbach, Fairchild, Hicks, Evans, and Garoutte. Nay: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Carroll

C) Action Items – New Business:

#### Item 1. 2022-11691 JBM Acres Plat 1

Major Preliminary Plat proposes four (4) single-family residential lots and one (1) outlot on approximately 16.89 acres of property located in the "RR" Rural Residential District. The subject property contains a home addressed as 11310 SE 48th Avenue, Runnells, and is located within Section 23, Camp Township.

Chris Meeks introduced the item and gave the staff presentation and recommendation.

Let the record show that Nick Carter, Carter Surveying & Construction Services, 8755 NE 27<sup>th</sup> Ave, Altoona, IA 50009, was present to represent this item.

After the staff presentation, and discussion between the commissioners, staff and applicant, a motion was made by Fairchild and seconded by Hicks to **approve** the requested Major Preliminary Plat, as recommended by staff.

Vote: Yea: Steinbach, Fairchild, Hicks, Evans, and Garoutte. Nay: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Carroll

## D) Advertised Public Hearing:

## Item 1. Public Hearing - Polk 2050 Comprehensive Plan

Presentation, discussion and review/recommendation on the final draft of the Polk 2050 Comprehensive Plan (Polk 2050 Planning the Way). This Plan will replace the current Polk 2030 Comprehensive Plan adopted in 2006. The Plan contains detailed data, analysis and long-range goals and strategies to guide future development and planning efforts within the County. The information is organized within eight (8) main chapters: Housing, Land Use, Natural Resources, Agriculture, Economic Development, Corridors/Villages, Infrastructure and Transportation/Mobility.

Chris Shires and Abbey Hebbert with Confluence presented the final draft of the Polk 2050 Comprehensive Plan and the final time line for approval. These items were discussed in greater detail by the Commissioners, consultant and staff, including questions from the Commission.

A motion was made by Fairchild and seconded by Evans to recommend to the Board of Supervisors that the final draft of the 2050 Comprehensive Plan be adopted and approved.

Vote: Yea: Steinbach, Fairchild, Hicks, Evans, and Garoutte. Nay: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Carroll

E) Unfinished Business: None

F) Consent – New Business: None

G) Discussion – New Business: None

H) Public Comments: None

I) Report from the Zoning Administrator:

Bret VandeLune provided a brief update on the following topics: 2050 Comprehensive Plan wrap up after approval by the Board of Supervisors, working on Zoning Ordinance amendments to close loopholes and staff changes, including the recent hire of Seth Cloe for the Civil Design Technician.

#### J) Adjournment:

A motion was made by Garoutte and seconded by Steinbach to adjourn until the next scheduled Zoning Commission meeting.

Vote: Yea: Steinbach, Fairchild, Hicks, Evans, and Garoutte. Nay: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Carroll