Sheriff’s Office

Inmate Room & Board

Iowa Code 356.7 authorizes a Sheriff's Office to seek reimbursement from inmates who are convicted in State court.  The Polk County Jail charges inmates for time spent in custody, according to the guidelines presented in the Iowa Code.

Persons who receive a bill have 10 days from the sentencing date to make a full payment, or to enter into a payment plan with the Polk County Attorney.  Failure to do so may result in the Sheriff filing a Claim for Reimbursement with the Court.  The Court will approve the claim without hearing, and once approved the claim will have the effect of a judgment for the purpose of enforcement.

Persons who do not agree with the order approving the Claim for Reimbursement may file an appeal directly to the Sheriff’s Office or file an application with the Court to reexamine the decision.  The application for reexamination must be filed with the Court within 10 days of the filing of the order.

Persons wishing to file an appeal to the Sheriff's Office or who believe there is an error in their charges may submit this form to the Polk County Jail for review.  Phone inquiries please call 515-323-5411 or email us at .

Payments are only accepted after sentencing.

Payments may be made in person at the Polk County Jail.

Payments may also be mailed:
Polk County Jail
Room & Board
1985 NE 51st Place
Des Moines, Iowa 50313


Contact Us

Polk County Sheriff
1985 NE 51st Place
Des Moines, Iowa 50313

Administration: (515) 286-3814
: (515) 286-3800
: (515) 286-3333
Jail: (515) 323-5400
Law Enforcement
: (515) 286-3306