Attorney’s Office

OWI Report (April 2019)


One hundred seventy-three defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of April 2019.

One hundred twenty-four of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of two days in the county jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for an OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were: 

Kayla Antenucci, (REF); Gustavo Arancibia Ballester, (0.098); San Aye, (0.099); Melanie Babcock, (0.168); Andrew Battani, (0.116); Jerome Bobo, (REF); Theodore Bong, (0.185); Gilberto Bravo Cedeno, (0.106); Brandon Brewer, (0 .108); Matthew Brown, (REF); Joel Carroll, (0.134); Nereida Castro, (0.121); Brandon Chambers, (0.1); Angela Chapman, (0.121); Clifford Cheers, (REF); Ndatabaye Claude, (0.188); Kathy Colwell, (0.31); Antonio Contreras-Colunga, (0.177); William Crabb, (REF); Trae Cropp, (DRE); Korie Daughtery, (REF); Nicole Degard, (0.218); Nicole Degard, (0.218); Matthew Denning, (REF); Riddel Djembi Mboumba, (REF); Emilio Duran-carmona, (0.154); Landon Elscott, (0.117); Ebenezer Emunah, (0.172); Emilee Erichsen, (0.158); Tariq Essalama, (0.189); Mason Evans, (0.104); Joseph Freeman, (0.129); Nicholas Friess, (0.172); Riley Gage, (0.203); Brian Geiken, (0.146); Emmanuel George, (REF); Roberto Gomez-gonzalez, (0.163); Craig Goode, (REF); Christine Gray, (0.13); Emma Halsey, (REF); Steven Hansen, (REF); Heaven Harrison, (REF); Dawn Hay, (0.181); Julie Henry, (0.214); Jesus Hernandez Aguilar, (0.144); Luke Hershley, (REF); Phong Hoang, (REF); Autumn Hoffman, (DRE); Connie Huff, (0.199); Loretta Kay James, (0.144); Eric Johnson, (0.143); Brandon Johnson, (REF); Steven Jones, (0.234); Nicholas Jordan, (REF); Hannah Kilby, (REF); Hannah Kilby, (REF); David Knight, (0.142); Ezra Kopsa, (REF); Gregory Kramer, (0.274); Brianne Landes, (0.225); Alexandra Larson, (0.135); Dawn Larue, (REF); Rylie Lawrence, (0.154); Madison Lawson, (0.136); Matthew Leetor, (REF); Dylan Magnuson, (0.156); Prince Maiman, (REF); Tara Mattiussi, (0.163); Sabrina Mccormick-mccombs, (0.248); Brooke Mcnamer, (0.089); Douglas Meiners, (DRE/.140); Jacob Mention, (0.109); Amanda Meyer, (REF); Leif Monson, (0.145); Melvin Moore, (REF); Roginia Moore, (REF); Ross Mulcahy, (0.203); Douglas Murrow, (0.197); Damarian Napoleon, (DRE); Heather Nelson, (0.157); Tuan Ngo, (REF); Kelsea Nicholson, (0.185); Shannon Nielsen, (0.158/DRE); Clint Nielsen, (REF); Kyle Nugent, (0.21); Marco Nunez Barron, (0.164); Godofredo Oropeza Rodrijuez, (REF); Cory Owens, (0.242); Alexis Paredes, (0.136); Patricia Petrak, (0.116); Nathan Pillman, (REF); Elmer Pinto Perez, (0.181); Elmer Pinto Perez, (DRE/0.220); Brandon Pohl, (0.164); Pedro Ramirez, (0.114); Ronald Reed, (0.093); Donis Rivera Godoy, (0.116); William Robinson, (0.145); Devin Robles, (0.181); Lauren Rodriguez, (0.14); Tanner Saltzman, (0.122); Tony Seemeuang, (0.173); Terry Shawver, (0.213); Jeffrey Sherwood, (0.12); Shawn Shortell, (0.146); George Simbro, (0.294); Timothy Simmer, (0.177); Jordan Simmons, (0.101/DRE); Rick Simmons, (0.212); Shae Smith, (0.195); Jolynn Smyth, (0.175); Ni Soe, (0.217); Adam Stocks, (0.123); Jessica Stufflebeam, (0.231); Hendry Sumo, (0.11); Larittha Sweatte, (REF); Stephen Templeton, (0.178); Trent Terlisner, (0.090/DRE); Darwin Thomas, (0.164); Jacob Tiemeier, (REF); Ryan Torgerson, (REF); Lawrence Walker, (0.175); Lawrence Ware, (0.131); James Yates, (DRE).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, twenty-nine had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .089 and the high test was .310 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Four defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE”) and thirty-two refused chemical testing (denoted by “REF”).

Thirty-nine defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of seven days in county jail and a minimum fine of $1,875, upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Quentin Abraham, (0.147); Tyler Collins, (0.189); Vincent Crivaro, (0.386); Bryan Curtis, (REF); Richard Dameron, (DRE); Austin Damm, (0.145); Bret DeVries, (0.166); Nathan Finch, (0.133); John Flater, (REF); Todd Fortner, (0.192); David Friloux, (REF); Jacqueline Fuentes, (0.146); Roscoe Green, (REF); Melissa Guerrero, (0.193); Scott Haag, (DRE/0.178); Calvin  Hill, (REF); Brandon Honeyman, (0.162); Jessica Kruse, (0.174); Aaron Lane, (0.15); Gregory Leverette, (0.16); Allison Lewis, (0.165); Dylan Magnuson, (0.192); James McNamee, (0.147); Michael Pauli, (REF); Felicia Perry, (0.243); Moises Plaza, (REF); Larry Quinn, (REF); Martha Ramirez-valenzuela, (0.152); Barbara Reed, (0.209/DRE); Brandon Ruiz Quintana, (DRE); Rodrigo Santos Nolasco, (0.176); Miya Smith, (0.176); Robbie Smith, (DRE); Devin Sorter, (0.209); Candice Sparling, (0.174); Samantha Torode, (0.246); Brittany Trainor, (0.233); Jose Urbano Urbano, (0.135); Bailee Watson, (REF).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of 0.135 to a high of 0.386 (more than FOUR times the legal limit). Eight of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were ten defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense.  OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a defendant convicted of OWI Third Offense to a minimum of thirty days in county jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. The defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Third Offense in this reporting period were: 

Rahsaan Conley, (0.104); Richard Cox, (REF); Devin Dougherty, (DRE); Leroy Gordon, (REF); Robert Hudson, (DRE/0.291); Ruach Jioklow, (REF); Toyusi Johnson, (0.215/DRE); David Leanos, (REF); Alisa Munzenmaier, (REF); Holly Quirk, (0.261).

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For the month of April 2019, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Kate Clark, Kailyn Heston, and Jordan Roling, and the support staff responsible for assisting were: Melanie Lumley, Cheyanne Wallace, and Chelsey Wilson.

Contact Us

Polk County Attorney's Office
Polk County Justice Center
222 Fifth Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3737
Fax: (515) 286-3428