Attorney’s Office

OWI Report (February 2019)


One hundred forty defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of February 2019.

Ninety-seven of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of two days in the county jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for an OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were: 

Ronnie Albritton, (0.218); Ambrose Alor, (0.157); Kenneth Ayers, (0.234); Dawn Baumunk, (0.106); Ezequiel Beaty Cordova, (0.115); Alexander Bertrand, (0.218); Kimberly Boettcher, (0.157); Peter Brockman, (0.152); Nicholas Bucklew, (0.201); Jamie Cada, (0.188); Sheki Cadick, (0.169); Julious Calderon, (REF); Mykell Cameron, (0.146); Karington Chladek, (0.202); Stuart Clausen, (0.143); Amanda Conti, (0.234); Roxane Crozier, (0.178); Daivon Daniels, (0.122); Devin Davis, (0.157); Miguel Diaz De Leon, (0.129); Alyssa Dimig, (0.114); Doyle Elwell, (DRE); Kevin Fradiue, (0.153); David Gaines, (REF); Kellan Gannon, (0.119); Adrian Garcia, (REF); Daniel Garcia Martinez, (0.139); Ramona Graham, (REF); Dana Grosklags, (0.137); Cody Grubbs, (0.213); Ryan Gunderson, (0.212); Madeline Habhab, (0.204); Hrang Herh, (REF); Miguel Hernandez Dominguez, (0.111); Jaime Hernandez Lopez, (REF); Jacob Horstman, (0.236); Patrick Hunter, (REF); Michael Iseman, (0.24); Charlotte Jones, (0.14); Antavis Jumper, (0.243); Hanifa Karic, (0.169); Chandra Kraft, (0.182); John Lako, (0.15); Bradley Lepley, (REF); Eduardo Lerma-guerrero, (0.169); Jessica Limke, (0.096); Daniel Lolik-lado, (REF); Abedi Lombe, (0.217); Kray Lukehart, (REF); Amanda Major, (REF); Nathan Mann, (0.196); Trafonia Massenberg, (0.101); Steven Mcallister, (0.26); Derrick McCoy, (0.196); Brant Mcelwee, (0.168); Melanie Means, (0.171); Norval Michael, (REF); Dale Millard, (REF); Jose Mora Arreola, (0.146); Kristina Moseley, (0.106); Sarah Nemmers, (0.171); Kevin Ohde, (0.264); Derrick Ord, (0.255); Jennifer Oswalt, (0.103); Simon Peter, (0.14); Luke Pettey, (DRE); Miguel Pizarro, (0.204); Domingo Raymundo, (0.287); Colby Richardson, (0.158); Michael Rife, (REF); Cole Rushing, (DRE); Taylor Sample, (REF); Adam Schoene, (0.13); Jared Schwartz, (0.182); Craig Scrivner, (REF); John Shaffer, (0.129); Mary Short, (0.050/DRE); Darrell Smith, (0.099); Jennifer Smith, (REF); Sean Speicher, (0.17); Shannon Springer, (0.155); Carrington Stalzer, (0.142); Zachary Stephen, (DRE); Sterling Svaleson, (REF); Christopher Thelen, (0.178); John Thomas, (REF); Taylor Turnbull, (0.139); Gavin Walls, (0.136); Alysia Webster, (REF); Stephen Wedgwood, (REF); Ryan Weis, (0.096); Eric Wentz, (REF); Alexander White, (REF); Troy Willett, (0.173); Tyler Young, (DRE); Lucas Zachary, (REF); Felicia Zirkelbach, (REF).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, thirty-four had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .096 and the high test was .287 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Five defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE”) and twenty-five refused chemical testing (denoted by “REF”).

Thirty-four defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of seven days in county jail and a minimum fine of $1,875, upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Shelbi Alex, (0.169); Alexander Bachman, (REF); Derrick Bell, (0.19); Timothy Biggerstaff, (DRE); Amy Brown, (REF); Amy Brown, (REF); Scott Campbell, (0.153); Carlos Campos Cruz, (REF); Jennifer Carruthers, (0.19); Cory Chapman, (0.139); Sevmea Che, (0.212); James Courter, (0.221); Wolo Davis, (0.121); Gisselle Davis, (REF); Chad Derry, (0.175); John Determan, (REF); Hoffman Grenz, (0.211); Luke Grimm, (REF); Shawn Heuss, (REF); Natalie Kelling, (0.219); Shawn Kellis, (0.083); Mark Levine, (0.196); Calvin McGahuey, (0.187); Paige Metzger, (0.149); Jeffrey Miller, (0.112); David Miller, (0.146); Anthony Poppen, (REF); Sompong  Reuanthong, (0.107); Heather Schietzelt, (0.128); Mary Short, (0.116); Blake Skartvedt, (0.237); Sean Walker, (REF); Jasmaine Warren, (REF); Alex Young, (0.215).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of 0.083 to a high of 0.237 (more than TWO times the legal limit). Eleven of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were nine defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense.  OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a defendant convicted of OWI Third Offense to a minimum of thirty days in county jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. The defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Third Offense in this reporting period were: 

Scott Alsted, (0.204); Cameron McCallister, (0.277); Joshua Middleton, (0.168); Gregg Mooers, (0.264); Aaron Morney, (REF); Jason Patrick, (0.188/DRE); Kurtis Peterson, (REF); Casey Sledge, (0.216); Teri Watson, (REF).

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For the month of January 2019, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Kailyn Heston, and Jordan Roling, and the support staff responsible for assisting were: Melanie Lumley, Cheyanne Wallace, and Chelsey Wilson.

Contact Us

Polk County Attorney's Office
Polk County Justice Center
222 Fifth Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3737
Fax: (515) 286-3428