Attorney’s Office

OWI Report (Jul 2017)


One hundred fifty-seven defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of July 2017.

One hundred fifteen of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of two days in the county jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for an OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were:  

Abbie Agan, (0.156); Pedro Arana, (0.141); Melvin Arevalo Callejas, (0.143); Jason Audas, (0.283); Maria Avila Galvez, (0.204); Katherine Ball, (0.106); Mark Bell, (DRE); Krista Bennett, (0.16); Nicole Benson, (0.187); Michelle Berst, (0.152); Nathaniel Birru, (REF); Kyle Bright, (0.183); Jeffrey Brooks, (0.106); Thomas Burk, (0.122); Christopher Burke, (0.197); Michael Byers, (0.106); Leonor Camacho Rodriguez, (REF); Nicholas Canney, (0.146); Aaron Canney, (0.187); Alexander Cantu, (0.231); Johnathan Chase, (0.182); Steven Chopard, (0.216); Jerimiah Coah, (DRE); Kole Critchlow, (0.142); Austin Damm, (0.141); Susan Danilson, (0.191); Quinton Dennis, (0.119); Dennis Diaz Rodas, (REF); Brandon Eagan Langford, (0.213); Brenden Eilander, (0.172); Juan Escobar Cruz, (0.101); Francis Fasanella, (0.201); Matthew Fiene, (0.116); Laurel Fisher, (0.093); Kristine Floyd, (0.27); Tynesha Franklin, (0.115); Jeffrey Gabby, (0.145); Andrew Gier, (0.094); Alaina Glenn, (0.155); Jessica Gomez, (0.205); Cindy Gonzales Ortiz, (0.129); Bobby Griffin, (0.143); Bobby Griffin, (.028/DRE); Raymond Guest, (0.14); Ricky Hardy, (0.124); David Hartnett, (DRE); Elizabeth Heller, (REF); David Herrera, (0.104); Tiara Herron, (0.101); Christopher High, (0.113); Brandon Howard, (REF); Jonathon Howell, (0.137); Eldon Hunsicker, (0.225); Martin Ibarra Quiroz, (0.165); Albert Iverson, (REF); Jasmine Johnson, (DRE); Elizabeth Jones, (0.141); Vannara Keo, (0.091); Mahendra Khadka, (0.296); Zachary Koester, (0.198); Brian Krakau, (REF); Robby Kristensen, (0.258); Kellina Kuebler, (0.159); Nellie Kuntzelman, (REF); Aaron Lafrenz, (REF); Meredith Lemon, (0.188); Teri Lewis, (REF); Taylor Linse, (REF); Marco Lopez Rubio, (0.216); Douglas Louis, (0.172); Nastassja Lund, (0.179); Brett Mccarthy, (0.205); Carlos Mccormack Padial, (0.133); Vickie McCuller, (REF); Caitlyn McLeod, (DRE); Kristina Meunier, (REF); Ryan Miner, (REF); Robert Montana, (0.097); Blaine Morlan, (DRE); Miguel Munguia, (REF); Clayton Murry, (0.113); Jeremy Naylor, (0.104); Douglas Negrete, (0.163); Kevin Nunez, (REF); Adira Ordaz, (0.177); Javier Ortiz Mejia, (0.156); Ryan Osweiler, (REF); Destiny Owens, (0.096); Juan Perez-roque, (REF); Tanner Radden, (0.107); Jeffrey Ragan, (0.149/DRE); Cole Ransom, (0.099); Kenneth Richards, (REF); Eric Rinard, (0.155); Nathan Rosman Bakehouse, (0.118); Eduardo Salamanca, (DRE); Jelal Samawi, (DRE); Jose Sanchez, (0.119); Francis Schulte, (0.17); Dontai Scott Burdick, (REF); Melinda Seeman, (0.116); Lakpa Sherpa, (0.144); Chelsea Smith, (0.131); Evelyn Stewart, (.160/DRE); Trevor Sutton, (0.212); Monae Thomas, (0.122); Gary Thomas, (REF); Benjamin Tiefenthaler, (0.271); Christina Towey, (0.175); Darcy Valline, (0.164); Benjamin Vazquez Angeles, (0.156); Jordan Waters, (0.293); Eric Winkel, (0.262); Ann York, (0.298); Sterling Young, (0.136).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, thirty-eight had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .091 and the high test was .298 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Eight defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE”) and twenty-one refused chemical testing (denoted by “REF”).

Thirty-five defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of seven days in county jail and a minimum fine of $1,875, upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Rylee Aldrich, (0.173); Briar Alford, (REF); Matthew Althaus, (0.095); Brandon Blaine, (0.209); Craig Breja, (0.17); Lindsay Carey, (0.179); Christopher Fields, (0.174); Howard Fleetwood, (0.099); Joseph Fletcher, (DRE); Richard Floyd, (0.167/DRE); Tha Gay, (0.242); Sahji Gbadyu, (0.248); Jason Grady, (REF); Danielle Haas, (0.168); Thomas Hayes, (REF); Cory Heagle, (0.21); Scott Heisler, (0.254); Andrew Henricksen, (0.131); Adam Knode, (0.215); Matthew Martin, (0.11); Dau Mayor, (0.172); Abdullah Mohamed, (REF); Daeante Neely, (REF); Adolfo Orozco, (0.144); Todd Reynolds, (0.125); Ikunda Sawaki, (0.255); Lauren Schulte, (0.261); Matthew Stanley, (REF); Mike Stanley, (0.082); Glenda Ubben, (0.164); Alison Vandermark, (0.127); Alexis Vestal, (0.178); Nageb Wchala Gomo, (REF); Rickey Wilson, (REF); William Woods, (0.25).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of .082 to a high of .261 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Seven of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were four defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense.  OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a defendant convicted of OWI Third Offense to a minimum of thirty days in county jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. The defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Third Offense in this reporting period were: 

Lucas Campbell, (REF); Juan Cerda, (REF); David Goldsberry, (REF); Terry Hambrick, (REF); Alexander Jones, (0.127); Maclovio Lopez, (REF); Richard Newman, (REF).

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For the month of July 2017, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Maurice Curry, Kailyn Heston, and Jordan Roling, and the support staff responsible for assisting were: Megan Carter, Melanie Lumley, Chelsey Wilson, and Erica Zimmerman.

Contact Us

Polk County Attorney's Office
Polk County Justice Center
222 Fifth Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3737
Fax: (515) 286-3428