Attorney’s Office

OWI Report (May 2019)


One hundred twenty defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of May 2019.

Eighty-four of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of two days in the county jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for an OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were: 

Paul Andrew, (REF); Lin Aung, (0.185); Renee Bales, (REF); Hope Banker, (0.136); David Beyer, (0.111); Prajwal Bhandari, (0.152); Stephanie Blazejewski, (0.181); Christian Bowden, (REF); Kinsey Carlson, (0.244); Joshua Carman, (0.181); Sarah Chaplin, (REF); Thomas Charleston, (REF); Zachory Chipperfield, (0.169); Robert Cline, (0.137); Christa Cosner, (0.107); Ashby Creighton Crum, (0.19); Senad Donlagic, (REF); Kelsie Dop, (0.285); Steven Downing, (REF); Tyler Engelhardt, (0.108); Yamungu Fereza, (0.162); Cody Field, (0.109); Benton Frey, (0.139); Anthony Garcia Pacheco, (0.156); Prince George, (REF); Jaime Gonzalez, (0.229); Matthew Gridley, (0.091); Jennifer Guyer, (REF); John Habick, (REF); Cory Hall, (0.113); Jami Hansen, (DRE); Roel Hernandez Munoz, (REF); Javier Hernandez Ruiz, (0.139); Sydney Houston, (0.211); Jordan Huewe, (REF); Edemir Joyas, (0.114); Maren Kintner-meyer, (0.123); Scott Kritenbrink, (0.183); Allison Kroeger, (0.133); Scott Laffey, (0.146); Vai Lian, (0.211); Charles Lierman, (REF); Zachory Lorton, (REF); Sai Maing, (REF); Sylvester McCracken, (REF); Gabryelle Melton, (0.094); Brian Methe, (0.146); Todd Meyers, (REF); Sarah Miller, (0.151); Connor Miller, (0.274); Keegan O'connell, (0.11); Lance Odegaard, (0.186); Molly Olsasky, (0.233); Jorge Orantes Gonzalez, (REF); Austin Osmundson, (DRE); Tran Phuc, (0.154); Lucas Roberts, (REF); Megan Rold, (0.165); Tyler Rozeske, (0.103); Carrie Russell, (0.211); Jose Salas Galvan, (0.092); Jose-celestino Salas-galvan, (0.116); Lawrence Sayee-totaye, (0.153); Lyndsey Seretis, (0.204); Richard Serrano, (0.163); Bailey Shannon, (0.2); Shane Simmons, (REF); Bryan Sirois, (DRE/0.249); Chelsey Stalker, (0.254); Jaelyn Steinkuehler, (0.142); Charlene Teas, (0.221); Curtis Tharp, (REF); Pau Thawng, (0.224); Brianna Titus, (0.166); Javier Valdez, (REF); Kendell Vanderschel, (0.187); Mesac Vargas-ramirez, (DRE); Raul Villa Galvan, (REF); Matthew Vola, (REF); Mollie Wallace, (0.345); Douglas Winkey, (0.145); James Woods, (0.043); Claudia Wulf, (0.188); Irfan Zuna (REF).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, twenty-nine had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .091 and the high test was .345 (more than FOUR times the legal limit). Five defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE”) and twenty-five refused chemical testing (denoted by “REF”).

Twenty-seven defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of seven days in county jail and a minimum fine of $1,875, upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Lyndsey Batz, (0.178); Raymundo Beltran Guerra, (0.121); Sajan Bhandari, (REF); Martin Castro Beranza, (REF); Christopher Coleman, (REF); David Crandell, (0.132); Leslie Frame, (0.146); Shelly Johnson, (REF); Chappo Kabadom, (0.218); Corey Kelleher, (REF); Jacob Kenney, (REF); Thomas Kisner, (0.192); Shawn Larsen, (REF); Robert Mauricio, (0.171); Lisa Musso, (0.206); Christopher Neal, (REF); David Ott, (0.154); Jimmy Sarceno Lopez, (0.13); Austin Sheldahl, (0.145); Jesse Sink, (0.161); Troy Stuflick, (0.114); Troy Stuflick, (REF); Gabriel Terrell, (REF); Richard Thomas, (0.345); Shawnna Webster, (0.165); Hannah Woods-Daggett, (REF); Melissa Wuebker, (REF).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of 0.114 to a high of 0.345 (more than FOUR times the legal limit). Twelve of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were nine defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense.  OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a defendant convicted of OWI Third Offense to a minimum of thirty days in county jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. The defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Third Offense in this reporting period were: 

Martin Castro Beranza, (0.185); Alejandro Cruz Pena, (0.184); Anthony Fajardo, (0.308); Ryan Martin, (0.119); Joseph Masumbuko, (0.126); Christensen Omondi, (REF); Alexander Smith, (DRE/.206); Raul Villa Galvan, (0.22); Michael Young, (REF).

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For the month of May 2019, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Kate Clark, Kailyn Heston, and Jordan Roling, and the support staff responsible for assisting were: Melanie Lumley, Cheyanne Wallace, and Chelsey Wilson.

Contact Us

Polk County Attorney's Office
Polk County Justice Center
222 Fifth Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3737
Fax: (515) 286-3428