Attorney’s Office

OWI Report (November 2019)


One hundred twenty-three defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of November 2019.

One hundred one of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of two days in the county jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for an OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were: 

Justin Anderson, (0.175); Amanda Andrews, (0.095); James Austin, (0.191); Isivro Ayala, (REF); Caitlyn Bainum, (0.114); James Banghart, (0.227); Brian Banks, (0.12); Sarah Bender, (0.23); Samuel Bigelow, (0.146); Maison Bleam, (0.126); Amanda Bosch, (0.165); Michael Cain, (0.204/DRE); Karla Ceniceros, (0.192); Laree Conley, (0.126); Katilynn Contreras Galan, (0.139); Rhonda Cooper, (REF); Josue Corado Archila, (0.218); Andrew Cox, (0.156); Michael Cunningham, (REF); Jacob Dank, (0.108); Garang Deng, (0.152); Jesus Diaz Florez, (0.203); Joshua Douglas, (0.129); Steven Emerson, (0.128); Seth Epley, (0.099); Manuel Espina, (0.152); Bradley Farnsworth, (0.133); Lea Fitzgerald, (0.146); Tatyana Frye, (0.285); Luis Garcia Gonzalez, (0.168); Jared Gartman, (REF); Graciela Gomez Barahona, (0.273); Anthony Groves, (REF); Sydnie Halterman, (0.172); Grant Hauger, (0.181); Gary Hernandez, (0.158); John Hoffman, (0.149); Jennifer Hultman, (0.283); Philip Hurst, (REF); Fredy Iglesias Claros, (REF); Thomas Jarnigan, (REF); Cory Jensen, (REF); Leslie Keller, (0.179); Nabin Khadka, (0.218); Jeffrey Knox, (0.199); Harun Krijestorac, (REF); Kyler Krogman, (0.174); Dominic Lackland, (0.124); Brandon Leo, (0.106); Alexandra Liedman, (0.127); Hilleary Lockard, (REF); Deng Majouk, (REF); Charles Mcallister, (0.21); Angel Mcdonald, (REF); Jose Mejia-urbina, (REF); Juan Moreno Martinez, (REF); Scott Mortensen, (0.171); Garret Munch, (0.168); Jeremy Nau, (REF); Nichole Nigh, (0.158); Pascal Niyondeko, (0.161); Phanet Nouv, (0.196); Jennifer Olson, (0.23); Tyler Osmundson, (0.17); Mackenzie Overton, (0.21); Raudel Perez, (REF); Innocente Perez Geronimo, (REF); Jonathan Phelps, (0.025/DRE); Kolt Pitzen, (0.171); Gaspar Ramirez-Gaspar, (REF); Josiah Reeves, (0.141); Lauren Roeding, (0.202); Janice Root, (DRE); Tomas Salazar, (REF); Kayla Schreier, (0.177); Isabella Schroeder, (REF); Robert Sheeler, (0.106); Brian Shores, (0.104); Eliseo Silva Mucino, (0.133); Kenny Smart, (REF); Ryan Smith, (0.115); Leon Smith, (0.14); Tyrell Smith, (0.144); Christopher Snowbarger, (0.284); Scott Snyder, (REF); Bradly Solomon, (REF); Melody Stodden, (REF); Alan Swanson, (0.175); Candis Taylor, (0.193); Soe Than, (0.105); Lori Tiffany, (0.126); Michael Tittle, (REF); David Troxel, (0.114); Sean Turner, (0.196); Cortez Turner, (REF); Vivian Vaughn, (0.174); Eriberto Velazco Munoz, (0.257); Lucas Walker, (DRE); Naing Win, (0.163); Stephany Yeakey-hill, (0.123); Ismael Zelaya, (0.236).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, twenty-eight had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .095 and the high test was .285 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Two defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE”) and twenty-seven refused chemical testing (denoted by “REF”).

Fifteen defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum sentence of seven days in county jail and a minimum fine of $1,875, upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Dana Allen, (REF); Brian Chisholm, (0.118); Christopher Clement, (0.126); Bryan Curtis, (REF); Kaitlin Elliott-Lampkin, (REF); Eric Garrett, (REF); Gregory Hanson, (0.15); Shaun Mullin, (0.123); Julie Rahm, (0.124); Douglas Ridout, (0.235); Mark Shafer, (REF); Adam Siedel, (REF); James Stewart, (0.124); Lesley Tredwell, (0.171); Seth Weesner, (DRE).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of 0.118 to a high of 0.235 (more than TWO times the legal limit). Six of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were seven defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense.  OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a defendant convicted of OWI Third Offense to a minimum of thirty days in county jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. The defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Third Offense in this reporting period were: 

Morris Amara, (REF); Morris Amara, (REF); Sean Cahill, (0.349); Alston Campbell, (0.164); Joseph Morales, (0.312); Lucas Peck, (REF); Mateo Snadoval, (0.156).  

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For the month of November 2019, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Kate Clark, Kailyn Heston, and Jordan Roling, and the support staff responsible for assisting were: Josh Schuhardt, Cheyanne Wallace, and Chelsey Wilson.

Contact Us

Polk County Attorney's Office
Polk County Justice Center
222 Fifth Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3737
Fax: (515) 286-3428