Polk County Auditor

Jamie Fitzgerald


Jamie Fitzgerald has served as Polk County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections since January 2007.

Fitzgerald manages a staff of 49 full-time employees in five departments.  His office is responsible for a wide variety of functions, ranging from paying all of Polk County's bills to conducting elections in Iowa's largest county.

As County Auditor, one of Fitzgerald's top priorities has been utilizing technology and increasing efficiency to benefit  Polk County residents.  This includes making all Board of Supervisor meeting materials digitally and putting all audio of Board meetings online. 

Fitzgerald's office has also worked to place more than 100 years of Board meeting minutes online for the public to view and re-recorded all audio from the past meetings.  This provides a historical record and ensures a permanent copy of these meetings.

Fitzgerald has overseen the digitization of all of the Polk County transfer index book's 84,300 pages.  This allows citizens to trace online every property transaction in Polk County's history.

 As Commissioner of Elections, Fitzgerald oversees all elections in Polk County and maintains records for more than 300,000 registered voters.

The Polk County Auditor's office has received the Government Finance Officers Association's "Excellence in Financial Reporting" award.

Fitzgerald received an Associate of Arts degree from Iowa Central Community College and a Bachelor of Arts from Iowa State University.  He has also received a Certified Public Manager Certificate from Drake University.

Polk County Auditor Jamie Fitzgerald can be contacted at (515)286-3080 or Email

Media Photograph

List of previous Polk County Auditor's 

F.B. Burbidge (1851-1851) – Elected Aug.1851 / died in Oct. 1851

Bryon Rice (1851- 1855) (appointed) elected in 1852 – resigned June, 1855

Barlow Granger (June 19 – August 23, 1855) appointed TFV

Thomas H. Napier (1855-1859)                                           

John H. McClelland (1860 – 1865)

O.W. Bentley was elected in 1865 and resigned September 15, 1865

M.W. Folsom was appointed TFV for the remainder of 1865

John G. Weeks was elected to fill the remainder of the term (1866-67)

Polk County Judge was changed to Polk County Auditor in 1867

John B. Miller (1868-1873)

George C. Baker (1874-1877)

George W. Bristow (1878-1883)

Bruce E. Jones (1884-1887)

Amos W. Brandt (1888-1894)

J.S. McQuiston (1895-1900)

Fred Cope (1901-1904)

Lew Burnett (1905-1908)

Harry B. Frase (1909-1914)

F.J. Alber (1915-1920)

C.W. Rhoads (1921-1923)

J.G. Cook (1924-1932)

Ernest S. Olmsted (1933-1938)

Louis Lindstrum (1939-1948)

Harold Anderson (1949-1956)

Homer Adcock (1957-1959) resigned April 7, 1959

William McCulloch (appointed) served (April 1959 – 1968)

James Maloney (1969-1984) resigned February 16, 1984

Michael A. Mauro (appointed) served (February – November 1984)

Ned Chiodo (appointed) served (1984 – 1987)

Tom Parkins (appointed) served (1987-1996)

Michael A. Mauro (1997-2007) 

Jamie Fitzgerald (appointed) served (2007 – current)

I Want To...

Main Office

Administration Building
111 Court Avenue, Room 230
Des Moines, IA 50309
Mon - Fri: 8 - 5, except holidays


Phone: (515) 286-3080

Fax: (515) 286-3608


Election Office

George Paletta Building
120 2nd Avenue, Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50309 
Mon - Fri: 8 - 5, except holidays


Phone: (515) 286-3247

Fax: (515) 286-2099


Central Accounting

Administration Building
111 Court Avenue, Room 315
Des Moines, IA 50309 
Mon - Fri: 8 - 5, except holidays


Phone: (515) 286-3753

Fax: (515) 323-5253