Election Background Image

Primary Election - Tuesday, June 2, 2020


Voting in Office through Monday, June 1 - 8a - 5p.




ALL Primary Voters must declare either DEM or REP affiliation.  

ELECTION DAY VOTERS on Tuesday, June 2nd:  Consolidated polling sites will be open from 7AM to 9PM 

Polk County Election Office is located at 120 2nd Ave., Des Moines 50309

Polling Locations   List of Candidates     Instructions

Map of Consolidated precincts 


              PRECINCTS                                     SAMPLE BALLOTS by Party Affiliation

DM-1, Saylor-2                                          (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 2-4,20-25,33,47                                 (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 5-8,17-19                                           (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 9-16,39-42, Webster-1                      (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 26-32                                                  (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 34-38,46                                             (DEM)     (REP)

DM: 40,44-45,57-59                                   (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 43,60-63                                              (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 48-49,53-54,67,69-70                         (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 50-52,71,73-76                                     (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 55-56                                                     (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 64,65,82                                                (DEM)      (REP)

DM: 66,68,77-81,83-84                                (DEM)      (REP)

Alleman-1                                                      (DEM)      (REP)

DM-72,Allen-1, FourMile-1, Runnells-1        (DEM)      (REP)

Altoona: 1-5, Clay-1                                      (DEM)      (REP)

Ankeny: 1-5,10-13, Douglas-1                     (DEM)      (REP)

Ankeny: 6-9,14-15, Crocker: 1-2                  (DEM)      (REP)

Bondurant: 1-2, Franklin-1                           (DEM)      (REP)

Clive: 1-4                                                       (DEM)      (REP)

Delaware-1                                                   (DEM)      (REP)

Elkhart-1, Washington-1                              (DEM)      (REP)

Granger-1                                                      (DEM)      (REP)

Grimes: 1-3                                                   (DEM)      (REP)

Jefferson-1                                                   (DEM)      (REP)

Johnston: 1-6, Urbandale-4                          (DEM)      (REP)

Mitchellville-1                                                (DEM)      (REP)

Pleasant Hill: 1-3, Delaware-2                       (DEM)      (REP)

Polk City-1, Madison-1, Sheldahl Union-1      (DEM)      (REP)

Saylor-1                                                           (DEM)      (REP)

Urbandale: 1-3,5-11                                        (DEM)      (REP)

WDM: 111-115,118,213,311,314-318             (DEM)      (REP)

WDM: 116-117,211-212,312-313                    (DEM)      (REP)

Windsor Heights: 1-3                                        (DEM)      (REP)

Primary Election - Important Dates

April 23 - Absentee Ballots will be mailed to those who have requested a ballot by mail.

May 4 - First Day to Vote Early in person at the Polk County Auditor's Election Office.

May 18 – Worry free postmark deadline for mail in voter registration

May 22 – Voter preregistration deadline and deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail.  Election office open until 5PM for voter registration.  Voters may use Election Day registration procedures to register to vote after the preregistration deadline.

May 30 - Election office open until 5 p.m. for in person absentee voting

June 1 - 5PM Last day to vote absentee in person at the election office.  Absentee ballots by mail must be postmarked by this date

June 2 - Primary Election Day.  Polls open 7AM until 9PM.  Consolidated Polling Locations.

The election office address is listed below

Registerabsentee and election results links are on the footer. 

Polk County Election Office

120 2nd Avenue, Suite A

Des Moines, IA 50309

Questions?  Call (515) 286-3247

Emergency Curfew Order for Polk County In Effect from 9 PM to 5 AM Until Further Notice Polk County Curfew