County Treasurer Background Image

Vehicle Plate Replacement Cycle

I just received my renewal notice in the mail, how do I determine if I am getting new plates?

The front of the renewal notice will have a ‘Y’ in the ‘Plates’ column field.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When do I get new plates?

The life span of a license plate is about 10 years and the goal is to replace plates so there would never be a license plate on any vehicle over 10 years old.  History:  This program start April 1, 2012 for the May 2013 registration renewal month.

If your plates
were issued in:
The plate will
be replaced in:
1996-1997 2012
1998-2003 2013
2004 2014
2005 2015
2006 2016
2007 2017
2008 2018
2009 2019
2010 2020
2011 2021

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

What should I do with my old plate that I have on my vehicle?

You should recycle your old plate. You are not required to turn in the plates to the County Treasurer. The Vehicle system will record that new plates have been issued to a customer.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Historical changes to the Iowa Standard License Plate

  • 2010 "The background design will remain the same with the rural and city scene in the back ground."
  • In July 2011 the numbers and letters on the plate changed from blue to black color.
  • In November 2011 the zero was changed to a circle slash zero to assist law enforcement.
  • Eventually, the letters on the plate will come before the numbers, for example: BBB111.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

If only one of my vehicles is due for a replacement plate this year, can I get new plates for my other vehicles so that all of my plates are in sequential order?

If you choose to replace plates outside of your plate replacement period, you will be charged a $5 replacement plate fee. You will also need to turn in your old plates and current registration. If you do not have the current registration to turn in, a $3.00 replacement registration fee will be assessed.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

All of our 'Contact Us' information and 'Payment Options' can be found on the top menu bar.


TITLE TRANSFERS: We are open by APPOINTMENT ONLY FOR TITLE TRANSFERS. Until further notice, all other transactions must be done by phone, mail, drop box, or online. All of our 'Contact Us' information and 'Payment Options' can be found on the top menu bar. Pay online anytime at www.IowaTaxAndTags.org