Vehicle Registration Fee by Vehicle Type

Registration Fees – Iowa Code 321.109, 321.115 Through 321.123

All vehicles must be registered to legally be driven in Iowa. The annual registration fees are determined by Iowa Code sections 321.109 and 321.115 through 321.124 and are to be paid to the county treasurer’s office in the county of residence.

Below is a summary of registration fees by vehicle type:

Type of Vehicle Fee Formula and Registration Information

(Motor vehicle equipped with life support systems)


Used for transporting sick or injured persons needing medical care to medical facilities.

(Motor vehicle 25 years old or older)


$23 (1970-1983) or
$16 (1969 and older) if it’s a car or MPV owned before 1/1/2009.
$50 if purchased after 1/1/2009

An autocycle is a three-wheeled vehicle that has a steering wheel and seating that does not require the operator to straddle or sit astride.  These vehicles typically have bucket seats, seat belts, a steering wheel, and gas and break pedals similar to a car.

Model Years Old Fee
1 – 5 $20
6 or older $10


(Excluding church, private school and transit bus)

Gross weight based on empty weight of the vehicle plus 150 pounds multiplied by the number of passenger seats in the vehicle.

Bus Fees Chart 

Church Bus



Private-School Bus


No Fee - Plates Issued at State Level

Transit Bus


No Fee - Plates Issued at State Level


Electric Vehicles

Fee is based on weight and list price of the vehicle.  Beginning with January 2020 renewals, an additional supplemental registration fee will be imposed on Battery Electric and Plug-in Hybrid Electric vehicles as required by the Iowa Legislature, HF767.  The purpose of the supplemental registration fee is to mitigate the impact of those vehicles generating little to no fuel tax used to fund Iowa roads.  The supplemental registration fee will be phased in over three years beginning January 1, 2020.

The formula to calculate the registration fee for electric vehicles is as follows:  $0.40 per hundred pounds of vehicle weight, plus a percentage of the vehicle list price (reduced for older model years), plus the supplemental registration fee (based on vehicle type and phased in period).

Registration Fee Based on List Price and Age of Vehicle

Model Years Old

Percent of List Price

1 - 7


8 - 9


10 - 11


12 and after


Supplemental Registration Fee for Passenger Electric Vehicles - phased in over three years beginning January 1, 2020

Vehicle Type

January 2020 Fee

January 2021 Fee

January 2022 Fee

Battery Electric (BEV)




Plug-in Hybrid Electric (PHEV)




Example - January 2022 Renewal of a 2019 Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV)

Weight: 4,000 X .40% =


List Price: $35,500 X 1% =


Supplemental Fee: Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV) =


Annual Fee =


Hearse $50
Motor Homes

Class A

Suggested Retail List Price Model Years Old Fee
$80,000 & over: 1 – 5 $400
  6 & older $300
$40,000 to $79,999: 1 – 5 $200
  6 & older $150
$20,000 to $39,999: 1 – 5 $140
  6 & older $105
Less than $20,000: 1 - 5 $120
  6 & older $85

Class B (Van type vehicle)

Model Years Old Fee
1 – 5 $ 90
6 & older $ 65

Class C

Model Years Old Fee
1 – 5 $110
6 & older $80
Model Years Old Fee*
1 – 5 $20*
6 or older $10*
Motorized Bicycle
Multipurpose Vehicles - 1992 and older models $55
Examples: Chevrolet Blazer, Ford Bronco, IHC Scout, AMC Jeep CJ, and Dodge Ram Charger.

$60 Special Equipped

321.109 – A motor vehicle that has permanently installed equipment manufactured for and necessary to assist a person with a disability who is either the owner or a member of the owner’s household, in entering and exiting the vehicle, or if the owner or a member of the owner’s household uses a wheelchair as the only means of mobility, the annual registration fee is $60.

Specially Equipped Vehicle Owner’s Certification


Passenger cars, electric, low speed vehicles, 1993 and newer multipurpose vehicles, and 2010 and newer model year trucks (10K or less)
(Includes all motor vehicles except trucks, truck tractor, motor homes, ambulances, hearses, motorcycles and motorized bicycles.)
Model Years Old Percent of List Price
1 – 7 1.00
8 – 9 0.75
10 – 11 0.50
12 and after $50

Example: Weight: 3,000 pounds, list price: $18,500
3,000 lbs x .40% = $12
$18,500 x 1% = $185
Annual Fee = $197


Semi Trailer
(Some part of the weight of the semi trailer and load rests upon the towing vehicle.)



Special Truck & Truck Tractor
(Does not include a truck tractor operated more than 15,000 miles annually.)


Special Truck Fees Chart

Small Regular Trailer Less Than 2,000 lbs



Regular Trailer 2,000 lbs or greater



Travel Trailer
(Designed as a place of human habitation for vacation or recreational purposes.)


Based on square footage of floor space rounded to nearest whole dollar.
Model Years Old Fee
1 – 6 $ .30 per sq. ft.
7 & older 75% of original fee
Regular Truck, Truck Tractor, and Buses

Gross weight or combined gross weight of combination of vehicles. Certain motor trucks registered for 6 tons or less, towing trailers or semi trailers, not for hire, are exempt from registration for combined gross weight.

Regular Truck Fees Chart


Business Trade Truck

A business trade truck is 2010 model year > and weighs 10k or less and owned by a Corp., LLC, or Partnership, or By a person who files a schedule C or schedule F form with IRS which is eligible for depreciation under the IRS Code.

Leased – Same above criteria except: The lessee is a Corp, LLC, or Partnership and the truck is used primarily for purposes of the business, or the lessee is a person who files a schedule C or F form with IRS and the truck is used primarily for purposes of the person's own business or farming operation.

Penalties, up to $2,250, apply for falsely registering a vehicle as a business-trade truck. The owner must self-certify on the title application and each renewal to maintain business-trade usage.

Business Trade Truck Fees Chart


All of our 'Contact Us' information and 'Payment Options' can be found on the top menu bar.