Vehicle Title Transfer - Trailers
All trailer transfers will need to complete DOT’s Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration form (Iowa DOT form # 411007). All trailer purchases are subject to the 5% one-time Fee for New Registration based on the purchase price of the trailer.
All documents are to be completed in black or blue ink. Completed paperwork can be mailed or dropped off in our drop box located on the south side of our building in the parking lot. You must include your phone number for questions and/or to collect payment. A purchaser has 30 days from the date of sale to submit completed documents for title and registration to avoid penalty. You may also schedule an appointment at https://www.polkcountyiowa.gov/county-treasurer/book-an-appointment-title-transfers-only/ . Please be sure to read the page in its entirety before scheduling an appointment.
Small trailers weighing 2000 lbs. empty weight or less are only registered and not titled. The annual registration fee for a small trailer is $20.00. In addition to the application (Iowa DOT form # 411007 at the top of this page), you will need a bill of sale or the prior owner’s registration signed over, or a title if coming from a state that issues titles on small trailers. Brand new small trailers are required to have a bill of sale and may have a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin.
Large Regular/Semi trailers weigh over 2000 lbs. empty weight and are titled and registered in Iowa. Title fee is $25.00, and the annual registration fee is $30.00. You will need a properly assigned title in addition to the application (Iowa DOT form # 411007 at the top of this page). Brand new large trailers are required to have a Bill of Sale and must have a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin.
If you have built a trailer weighing 2000 lbs. or less, you will need to complete the application only (Iowa DOT form # 411007 at the top of this page). If the trailer weighs more than 2000 lbs., you will need to have a VIN assigned by the Iowa DOT. Email the Iowa DOT’s Investigation Bureau at INVBUREAU@IowaDOT.US for instructions on how to obtain an Iowa assigned VIN.
Towable recreational vehicles are designed as a place of human habitation for vacation or recreational purposes. The annual registration fee for towable recreational vehicles is based on the model year and square footage. For model years 1-6, the annual registration fee is figured at $0.30 cents per square foot. Seven model years old and older is calculated at 75% multiplied by $0.30 cents per square foot. Pop-up campers pulled by a motor cycle are titled as towable recreational vehicles. In addition to the application (Iowa DOT form # 411007 at the top of this page), you will need a properly assigned title if the towable recreational vehicle is used, or the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin and a bill of sale from the dealership if the towable recreational vehicle is new.