County Treasurer Background Image

Vehicle Title Transfer

You transfer your vehicle title in the county treasurer’s office in the county in which you live.  Here is Polk County Treasurer Contact Us information.

__________________________________________________________________________________

A new owner has 30 days to present the properly assigned title to his/her county treasurer so that a title can be issued in the new owner’s name. Penalties will apply after 30 days.

__________________________________________________________________________________

A buyer can drive the vehicle for 30 days without plates, as long as the vehicle was currently licensed by the seller. The properly assigned title and proof of insurance must be available in the vehicle in case the buyer is stopped by law enforcement.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Title Transfer

To ensure all documents are completed correctly, read both the seller and buyer responsibilities.  All documents are to be completed in black or blue ball-point pen then either mailed or dropped in our dropbox located at the front of our building.  Link here for address and other Contact Us information.

Seller(s) completes:

  • Title assignment: Buyer(s) name and address on the assignment line. Up to three names may be listed as owners on a title.
  • Date of Sale
  • Signature of seller: IF jointly owned with the name connector of AND both sellers must sign.
  • If the vehicle is 9 years old or NEWER: complete the odometer reading AND mark the appropriate odometer legend. Only one seller must hand print as indicated under signature of seller.

A model year formula for odometer shall be the current year minus 10. The resulting number represents the first model year for which a motor vehicle is EXEMPT from the odometer statement requirements.

  • If the vehicle is 7 years old or newer: complete the damage disclosure questions on the back of the Iowa title. If the answer to question 1 is ‘yes’ and the statement applies, the seller will need to also complete a separate Damage Disclosure Statement (Iowa DOT form 411108).

A model year formula for damage disclosure shall be the current year minus 8. The resulting number represents the first model year for which a motor vehicle is EXEMPT from the damage disclosure statement requirements.

Buyer(s) completes:

  • Title assignment: The buyer shall sign and hand print their name if the vehicle is 9 years old or NEWER. If more than one buyer, only one must sign and print their name.

A model year formula for odometer shall be the current year minus 10. The resulting number represents the first model year for which a motor vehicle is EXEMPT from the odometer statement requirements.

  • Complete the Iowa Application for Iowa Title and/or Registration Form (Iowa DOT form 411007) in black or blue ball-point pen.
    • Owner Information - All buyers must complete owner information (1, 2, & 3) AND all buyers are required to sign at the bottom of the application.
    • Primary User Information only complete if applicable.
    • Vehicle Information - completed by using the information on the title. Do not include a plate number unless you are using a plate from a vehicle sold or traded.
    • Security Interest Information - if there is a lien to be noted on the title, provide all information requested. If no lien against the vehicle, print “none” after the words “If none, so state.”  
    • Purchase Price - must be declared. If no purchase price, mark the box and complete page 2 of the application for the tax exemption. 
    • Business Trade truck exemption information box may be checked if applicable.

For Fee Estimator information and DOT's Fee Estimator link:  DOT’s Fee Estimator

 


Polk County Administration Building is closed until further notice--See our website www.PolkCountyIowa.gov/Treasurer for customer service updates - Pay online anytime at www.IowaTaxAndTags.org