Emergency Management

Print this page

Emergency Management Commission

Local emergency management is addressed in Iowa Code Chapter 29C and in Iowa Administrative Code 605 Chapter 7. Local emergency management governance, authority, fiscal responsibility, organization, and programs are set forth in these policy documents. Compliance with the scope of these mandates, coupled with significant additional federal mandates, creates high expectations for level of effort and compliance on the part of the local emergency management agencies.

Membership on the Emergency Management Commission is designated in the Code: the county sheriff, a representative of the Board of Supervisors, and the mayor (or designee) from each municipality in the county. The Commission is required by law to hire an Emergency Management Coordinator (EMC) who is charged with carrying out the program of the Emergency Management Agency (EMA). The Administrative Code outlines the qualifications and training required of the Coordinator, as well as the responsibilities of the Coordinator in implementing the county program.

Please click here for the Emergency Management Commission Bylaws.

Commission Members

Alleman Stacy Larson
Bill Bodensteiner

Skip Conkling

Mike Harmeyer

Ankeny James Clack
Gary Mikulec
Bondurant Mark Arentsen
Curt Sullivan
Board Of Supervisors Tom Hockensmith
Clive Rick Roe
Des Moines John TeKippe
Elkhart Chip Mathis
Andrew Cory
Grimes James Krohse
Kevin Kestel
Johnston James Krohse
Bill Vaughn
Mitchellville Bill Roberts
Pleasant Hill

Mark A. Konrad

Barb Malone

Polk City Jason Morse

Ron Tate

Richard Batanni

Sheriff Bill McCarthy
Urbandale Jerry Holt
Jon Rech
West Des Moines

Craig Leu

Jack Benge

Windsor Heights Dennis McDaniel

Commission Meetings

The Polk County Emergency Management Commission will meet on the 3rd Wednesday at 1:00 p.m. for the months of February, May, July, August and November at the Polk County Emergency Management Headquarters, 1907 Carpenter Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314

Agendas and Minutes
2015 Agendas 2015 Minutes
February 19 February 19
May 20 May 20
August 19 August 19
November 18 November 18

Archived Agendas and Minutes


Contact Us

Polk County Emergency Management
1907 Carpenter Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50314
(515) 286-2107

Email Emergency Management