Emergency Management

Print this page

E911 Service Board

911 Service Board

Local 911 is addressed in Iowa Administrative Code 605 Chapter 34A. Local 911 governance, authority, fiscal responsibility, organization, and programs are set forth in these policy documents.

Membership on the 911 Service Board is designated in the Code: the county sheriff, a representative of the Board of Supervisors, and a representative from each municipality in the county should all be part of the 911 Service Board.


The 911 Service Board is established in joint agreement, entered into by the political subdivisions located within the 911 service area of Polk County. Voting membership shall consist of one member of each eligible subdivision having a Public Safety Agency serving Polk County.

City Members
Ankeny Gary Mikulec
Bondurant Mark Arentsen
Clive Rick Roe
Delaware Township Joel Westendorf
Des Moines Dana Wingert
Elkhart Chip Mathis
Mitchellville Kary Kinmonth
Pleasant Hill
Polk City Jason Morse
Polk County Robert Brownell
Saylor Township Scott Cross
Runnells Craig Thompson
Urbandale Terry Nielsen
West Des Moines David Edgar
Windsor Heights

911 Service Board Meetings

The E911 Service Board will meet at least two times a year at the Polk County Emergency Management Headquarters, 1907 Carpenter Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314.

911 Agendas and Minutes

Click Here

911 Service Board Bylaws

Please click here for the E911 Service Board Bylaws.

911 Service Board Strategic Plan

Please click here for the E911 Service Board Strategic Plan 2015-2018.



Contact Us

Polk County Emergency Management
1907 Carpenter Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50314
(515) 286-2107

Email Emergency Management