Information Technology

IT Steering Committee

In early FY 2003/2004, a team of Department Heads and Elected Officials was created to oversee capital projects for the Information Technology Department. The Committee meets quarterly to review technology requests and other IT policy issues.

The IT Steering Committee's primary responsibilities include the following:

  • Capital Project selection
  • Oversight of capital project budget
  • Management of Miscellaneous Hardware/Software funds
  • Maintain a general awareness of all major technology projects throughout the County
  • Assist with prioritization of non-capital projects
  • Provide guidance for ongoing IT Policy

The permanent members of the Steering Committee include:

Mary Maloney Polk County Treasurer
Jamie Fitzgerald Polk County Auditor
Bill McCarthy Polk County Sheriff
Julie Haggerty Polk County Recorder
John Sarcone County Attorney
John Rowan Director - General Services
Jim Nahas Director - Human Resources
Betty Devine Department Head - Community, Family & Youth Services
Rich Leopold Department Head - Conservation
Jacque Hibbard Assistant to the Director - Public Works

IT representatives on this Committee include:

Tony Jefferson Chief Information Officer
Scott Horman IT Systems Manager
Pani Baruri IT Applications Manager

Alternate representatives include:

Kellie Phelps Polk County Treasurer
Frank Marasco Polk County Sheriff - Director of Planning and Development
Scott Slater Health Department
Deb Anderson Budget Manager

Contact Us

Polk County Information Technology
111 Court Avenue, Suite 373
Des Moines, IA 50309

P: (515) 286-3757
F: (515) 323-5301

I Want To...