IN THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT FOR POLK COUNTY
	STATE OF IOWA,
     Plaintiff,
v.

                ,
     Defendant.
	CRIMINAL NO:                

OWI SENTENCING ORDER
(FIRST OFFENSE)                   Defendant in custody.
                               



Defendant appears in person on the charge of Operating a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated First Offense (hereinafter OWI), in violation of Iowa Code Section 321J.2.  The State is represented by      .
	Defendant has knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently waived the right to counsel.
	Defendant appeared personally and with counsel,       for these proceedings. 
	Defendant also appears with interpreter:       .
	Defendant waives court reporting and any record or transcription of this Sentencing Hearing.

	Defendant PLEADS GUILTY to the offense set out above.  The Court has reviewed the signed petition to plead guilty and considered the statements of the Defendant.  The Court finds the Defendant understands the charge, the penal consequences and the constitutional rights being waived.  Based on the statements of the Defendant, statements of the prosecutor, and the Minutes of testimony accepted as true by the Defendant and considered by the Court, the plea has a factual basis and is knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently made.  DEFENDANTS PLEA IS ACCEPTED.  Defendant seeks immediate sentencing and waives time before sentencing and the use of a presentence investigation report.

	Defendant SEEKS IMMEDIATE SENTENCING and waives time before sentencing and a presentence investigation report.
	Defendant APPEARS FOR SENTENCING having previously pled guilty to the offense set out above.
	Defendant was FOUND GUILTY following a trial to the Court   by a trial jury.

On inquiry, no legal cause has been shown to prevent sentencing on this date.  Defendant was given an opportunity to speak in mitigation of the sentence.  The following sentence is based on all of the available SENTENCING CONSIDERATIONS set out in Iowa Code Section 907.5.  The court finds the following factors the most significant in determining this particular sentence:
The nature and circumstances of the crime	Statutory sentence requirements		Victim impact statement
Protection of the public from further offenses 	Defendant’s statement 			Defendant’s age and character
Defendant’s criminal history			Defendant’s mental health history	Defendant’s employment
Defendant’s substance abuse history		Defendant’s family circumstances	The Plea Agreement
Defendant’s propensity for further criminal acts	Maximum opportunity for rehabilitation 	     

DEFENDANT IS ADJUDGED GUILTY of OWI 1st Offense in violation of Iowa Code Section 321J.2.  Defendant is FINED $1250.00 PLUS SURCHARGE and drug abuse surcharge which is due immediately and is considered delinquent 30 days after due date.  

Defendant shall be INCARCERATED FOR ONE YEAR. All but       days       hours of this sentence are suspended. Credit Defendant with       days        hours served.  Defendant shall participate in, cooperate with, pay for and complete the OWI 1st program.  Completion of this program will be credited as 48 hours of jail time served.  Defendant shall pick up the information packet for this program in Room B40 of the courthouse, pay all program fees and complete the program within 90 days of this order.

	The Court waives $625.00  $      of the fine imposed pursuant to 321J.2(a)(2), the Code as Defendant now has a temporary restricted license.

DEFENDANT IS PLACED ON PROBATION beginning from the date of this order, or, if a term of incarceration is imposed, immediately upon defendant’s release from custody, for a period of one year to be supervised by the Department of Correctional Services (DCS).  The length of probation is based on the sentencing considerations set out above.  The level of supervision shall be determined by DCS.  Defendant is to comply with all term of probation as set forth herein and any terms imposed by DCS as required by the Intermediate Criminal Sanctions Program.  Defendant is ordered to obey all federal, state or city laws or ordinances while on probation.  Defendant is to notify his/her probation supervisor immediately upon any arrest or change of address.  Defendant shall pay any probation administration fees.  A violation of this paragraph or this order is a violation of probation.  This probation is subject to revocation by the Court under Iowa Code Chapter 908, on notice and an opportunity for hearing and a finding that the Defendant has failed to fairly live within the terms of probation and the law.  Such a finding may result in revocation of probation and incarceration or a finding of Contempt of Court under Iowa Code Section 665.4 for which Defendant could receive up to six months in jail, a $500 fine, or both. 

	Defendant is ordered to report to Room B40 of the Polk County Courthouse immediately following sentencing to enter into a probation agreement.  If the probation office is closed, Defendant shall report to Room B40 by 10:00 a.m. of the next business day.
	Defendant is ordered to report to Room B40 of the Polk County Courthouse between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. on the first business day after released from incarceration to enter into a probation agreement.

Defendant has received a substance abuse evaluation.  If a recommendation was received, Defendant shall pay for, cooperate with and complete the recommended programming. Defendant shall begin within 30 days of this order. Defendant shall file proof of compliance and completion with his/her probation officer.

Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 815.9(5), if the Defendant is receiving court appointed legal assistance, the Court finds upon inquiry, review of the case file and any other information provided by the parties, the Defendant has the reasonable ability to pay       restitution of fees and costs in the amount approved by the State Public Defender |_|or $       whichever is less.

	Defendant is ordered to complete       hours of COMMUNITY SERVICE within       days of the date of this order.  Defendant shall sign up for community service at the time of entering into the probation agreement.

	Pursuant to the plea agreement and upon the recommendation of the State, THE FOLLOWING COUNTS/CASES ARE DISMISSED:      .  Pursuant to the plea agreement Defendant is ordered to pay court costs on these counts/cases and if restitution is due on any of these counts/cases, Defendant is ordered to pay such restitution Iowa Code Section 901C.1 allows a defendant to file a motion to request that a dismissed case be expunged from the Clerk of Court’s public records.  Before the expungement may be granted, all of the following must be true: 

1. All charges in the case are dismissed.
1. At least 180 days have passed since the case was dismissed or the defendant proves, and the court finds, good cause to expunge the records sooner.
1. The dismissal was not based on a finding that the defendant was incompetent to stand trial nor was the defendant found not guilty by reason of insanity.
1. All court costs, fees, or other financial obligations ordered by the court have been paid.
 
	Case Number(s)       being dismissed by this order are related cases to the charge for which Defendant is receiving a deferred judgment.
	Defendant is ordered to make RESTITUTION in the amount of $      .  Payment(s) shall be made to the Clerk of Criminal Court, Polk County Courthouse, Fifth & Mulberry Streets, Des Moines, IA 50309.  The Clerk shall forward payment(s) to      . “TBD” indicates “to be determined” which means that the final, accurate restitution amounts are not available.  When such amounts of restitution are available, the State may file an application for restitution and a supplemental restitution order may follow.  Defendant has 30 days to contest the amount of restitution.  Defendant is ordered to participate in, cooperate with and complete a VORP session with each victim who so desires, including the victims of any dismissed charges, to discuss the crime, restitution amounts, and/or to establish a restitution payment plan.  If victim restitution amounts are not determined/ resolved in the VORP, the State may file an application for restitution and a supplemental restitution order may follow.  Defendant is ordered to call 286-3057 within three working days of this Order or release from jail to register for the VORP.  DEFENDANT SHALL NOT BE DISCHARGED FROM PROBATION UNTIL ANY RESTITUTION DUE IS PAID IN FULL.
	RECALL WARRANT

	OTHER:                                     

[bookmark: _GoBack]Defendant is ordered to immediately pay any and all restitution, civil penalties, fines, surcharges and court costs.  All payments shall be made to the Clerk of Court, Room 103, Polk County Courthouse, 500 Mulberry, Des Moines, Iowa 50309 or online at www.iowacourts.gov.  Defendant shall call the Clerk of Court at 286-3760 to verify amounts owed.  These amounts are considered delinquent 30 days after their due date.  NOTICE:  If the Defendant fails to pay the total financial obligation due, the obligation will be transferred for collection and an additional fee up to 25% of the financial obligation owed may be assessed.  The State of Iowa may withhold any State income tax refund, vehicle registration and/or driver’s license for unpaid court ordered financial obligations.

Defendant has a right to appeal this judgment to the Iowa Supreme Court.  To perfect an appeal, Defendant must file a written Notice of Appeal with the Clerk of Court no later than 30 days from the date of this Order.  If Defendant fails to file the Notice of Appeal, Defendant waives and gives up his/her right to appeal this judgment.  A copy of Defendant’s Notice of Appeal must be delivered to the Iowa Attorney General with proof of service.  If Defendant cannot afford an attorney or the cost of an appeal and qualifies for court appointed counsel, an attorney and necessary documents will be furnished at State expense. 

Bond on appeal is set at $       Cash Only.  Court costs are taxed to the Defendant.

	Defendant was personally served with a copy of this order.
	      was personally served with a copy of this order.
	In addition to all other persons entitled to a copy of this order, the Clerk shall provide a copy to the following: DAJCC
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