		
IN THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT FOR POLK COUNTY
	STATE OF IOWA,
Plaintiff,
v.

     ,
Defendant.
	CRIMINAL NO:      

MOTION TO AMEND
PLEA AND SENTENCING ORDER
                                                   Defendant in custody.



Defendant appears in person and with counsel,      , on charge of       in violation of Iowa Code Section(s)      .  The State was represented by      .  The State moves to amend the charge to       in violation of Iowa Code Section 321.463(10)(A), 321.463(10)(B).  The State respectfully requests that the Court approve this amendment.

ORDER TO AMEND, ACCEPTANCE OF PLEA, AND SENTENCING

	THE DEFENDANT ENTERS A GUILTY PLEA to the above charge as amended. The Court is satisfied that the Defendant understands the charge, the penal consequences, the rights being waived and finds a factual basis for the plea and that the plea is voluntary. The Court accepts the amendment. The plea is accepted. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED:

	DEFENDANT IS ADJUDGED GUILTY of      , in violation of Iowa Code Section 321.463(10)(A), 321.463(10)(B).
	Defendant shall pay a $      fine plus surcharge(s) and court costs which is due immediately and is considered delinquent 30 days after due date.
	Defendant shall serve       days in the Polk County Jail. Credit for       days served.  This sentence is suspended. 
	Complete       hours of community service within       days from the date of this order. Defendant shall report to Room B-40 of the Polk County Courthouse for placement immediately following sentencing. Defendant shall pay the required fee for placement.
	Defendant is ordered to make restitution in the amount of $ TBD.  Payment(s) shall be made to the Clerk of Criminal Court, Polk County Courthouse, Fifth & Mulberry Streets, Des Moines, IA 50309.  The Clerk shall forward payment(s) to      . “TBD” indicates “to be determined” which means that the final, accurate restitution amounts are not available.  When such amounts of restitution are available, the State may file an application for restitution and a supplemental restitution order may follow. Defendant has 30 days to contest the amount of restitution.  DEFENDANT SHALL NOT BE DISCHARGED FROM PROBATION UNTIL ANY RESTITUTION DUE IS PAID IN FULL.  Defendant shall appear on       in Room 211, Polk County Courthouse for a contempt hearing.
	    	 

	Pursuant to the plea agreement and upon the recommendation of the State, the following counts/cases are dismissed:      .  Pursuant to the plea agreement Defendant is ordered to pay court costs on these counts/cases and if restitution is due on any of these counts/cases, Defendant is ordered to pay such restitution.  Iowa Code Section 901C.1 allows a defendant to file a motion to request that a dismissed case be expunged from the Clerk of Court’s public records.  Before the expungement may be granted, all of the following must be true: 

1. All charges in the case are dismissed.
1. At least 180 days have passed since the case was dismissed or the defendant proves, and the court finds, good cause to expunge the records sooner.
1. The dismissal was not based on a finding that the defendant was incompetent to stand trial nor was the defendant found not guilty by reason of insanity.
1. All court costs, fees, or other financial obligations ordered by the court have been paid. 

	Case Number(s)       being dismissed by this order are related cases to the charge for which Defendant is receiving a deferred judgment.

Pursuant to Iowa Code Section 815.9(5), if the Defendant is receiving court appointed legal assistance, the Court finds upon inquiry, review of the case file and any other information provided by the parties, the Defendant has the reasonable ability to pay restitution of fees and costs in the amount approved by the State Public Defender or $     		  whichever is less.

Bond on appeal is set at $    	  Cash Only. Court costs are taxed to the Defendant. 

Defendant is ordered to immediately pay any and all restitution, civil penalties, fines, surcharges and court costs.  All payments shall be made to the Clerk of Court, Room 103, Polk County Courthouse, 500 Mulberry, Des Moines, Iowa 50309 or online at www.iowacourts.gov.  Defendant shall call the Clerk of Court at 286-3760 to verify amounts owed.  These amounts are considered delinquent 30 days after their due date.  NOTICE:  If the Defendant fails to pay the total financial obligation due, the obligation will be transferred for collection and an additional fee up to 25% of the financial obligation owed may be assessed.  The State of Iowa may withhold any State income tax refund, vehicle registration and/or driver’s license for unpaid court ordered financial obligations.

Mittimus on any remaining jail days shall issue immediately.


	Defendant was personally served with a copy of this order.
	      was personally served with a copy of this order.
	In addition to all other persons entitled to a copy of this order, the Clerk shall provide a copy to the following: DAJCC,      

PCAOW07152016                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              1

Page 4 (Revised 7/12/2012)



2

image2.wmf

image1.wmf

