Sheriff’s Office

Weapons Permits

Hours: Monday - Friday

8:00am - 3:30pm For Cash Transactions

8:00am - 4:15pm For Printing Permits Transactions

There are changes effective July 1, 2017. 

The Patrol Division manages the issuance of Weapons Permits. The Sheriff's Office issues personalized plastic photo ID cards for individuals issued Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons and paper cards for individuals who only receive a Permit To Acquire. We will transisiton to all of the permits in Iowa being printed from a central location and mailed to the applicant.

Effective July 8, 2013, Weapons Permits may be ordered online with the option to pay using a credit / debit card.  Paper applications will no longer be accepted. There is a $4 convenience fee for all credit / debit card orders.  Requests submitted as online application require a visit to the Sheriff’s office once the application has been approved.

Cash payments may be made in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.  Applications completed in person will be completed at the Sheriff’s office using a kiosk and require additional visit to the Sheriff’s office once the application has been approved.

How do I obtain a Permit to Carry?

You may submit an application online at ONLINE PERMIT TO CARRY

*Please note that the Online Permit To Carry website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa and use the kiosk.

All orders require a valid email address to communicate the status of your order.  You will be notified via email whether your application has been approved or denied.  If approved, you will be required to come in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa to show your valid form of identification and training documentation from a class with a NRA instructor or a DD214 that states honorable discharge.  As required by the State of Iowa, you must provide training documentation to receive a Permit to Carry. The address on your application must match the address on your identification.

Effective July 1, 2017, a new permit to carry requires a fee of $50 and a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. The permits are valid for five years from the date of issue.  If the permit is denied, $35.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant. The Sheriff's Office will retain the remainder for processing and handling of the application.

Effective July 1, 2017, renewing your current permit to carry requires a fee of $25, a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. The permits are valid for five years from date of issue.  If the renewal is denied, $10.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant.  The Sheriff's Office will retain the remainder for processing and handling of the application.

Renewals and duplicates can only be issued if the original permit was issued in Polk County.  As soon as a DPS ruling is made on how to handle out of county renewals and duplicates we will post this change.

Renewal applications must be received by the Sheriff's Office 30 days before and up to 30 days after expiration.  The permit expires on the date on the card-no grace period for carrying. Failure to do so may leave the permit holder without a valid permit and will require a new application. Expiration Date Explanation.
Complete information regarding the new law effective January 1, 2011 including training requirements, can be found on the following link. State information on obtaining and carrying permits. As information becomes available we will post it for the law changes effective July 1, 2017.
For more information, please call 515-286-3306.

 

How do I obtain a Permit to Acquire Weapons?

You may submit an application online at ONLINE PERMIT TO ACQUIRE

*Please note that the Online Permit To Acquire website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa.

All orders require a valid email address to communicate the status of your order.  You will be notified via email whether your application has been approved or denied.  If approved, you will be required to come in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa and show your valid form of identification.  The address on your application must match the address on your identification.

A permit to acquire weapons requires a fee of $25.00 and a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. A permit to acquire is valid for 5 years from the date of issue.  Effective July 1, 2017 they will be valid for 5 years. If the permit is denied, $15.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant. The Sheriff's Office will retain the remainder for processing and handling of the application.

Complete information regarding the new law effective January 1, 2011 including training requirements, can be found on the following link. State information on obtaining and carrying permits.

For more information, please call 515-286-3306.

 

Contact Us

Polk County Sheriff
1985 NE 51st Place
Des Moines, Iowa 50313

Administration: (515) 286-3814
Administration Fax: (515) 323-5473
Civil: (515) 286-3800
Communications
: (515) 286-3333
Jail: (515) 323-5400
Law Enforcement
: (515) 286-3306