Supervisor’s Office

Steve Van Oort

Party: Republican
Term Expires: 2020
District Represented: Third; includes Altoona, Ankeny, Bondurant, Mitchellville and Pleasant Hill
Contact Information: County Administration Building
111 Court Ave. Room #300
Des Moines IA, 50309
Phone: (515) 286-3120
Fax: (515) 323-5225
Maps: All Polk County Districts
Polk County District 3

Steve Van Oort was elected as a Polk County Supervisor in 2012 after serving seven years as mayor of Ankeny. He currently represents the 3rd District which includes Altoona, Ankeny, Bondurant, Mitchellville, Pleasant Hill, and a portion of unincorporated Polk County.

Supervisor Van Oort serves as a Polk County representative on the boards of Aging Resources of Central Iowa, Impact Community Action Partnership, Metro Advisory Council, Mid-Iowa Association of Local Governments, Mid-Iowa Development Fund, Neighborhood Finance Corporation, and Polk County Housing Trust Fund. 

Steve also serves on the Ankeny Economic Development Corporation and East Polk Innovation Collaborative.  He is a member and past president of Rotary Club of Ankeny and a member of the board of directors of the Partnership for a Drug Free Iowa.

Steve was named Ankeny Citizen of the Year in 2000, Ankeny Rotarian of the year in 2004, Ankeny Person of Vision in 2010, and a 2016 inductee into the Ankeny High School Hall of Honor.

Contact Us

Polk County Administration Building
111 Court Avenue, Room 300
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3120
FAX: (515) 323-5225