Supervisor’s Office

Tom Hockensmith

Party: Democrat
Term Expires: 2023
District Represented: Fourth; includes northeast Des Moines, Runnells and parts of southeast Des Moines
Contact Information: County Administration Building
111 Court Ave. Room #300
Des Moines IA, 50309
Phone: (515) 286-3120
Fax: (515) 323-5225
Maps: All Polk County Districts
Polk County District 4

Supervisor Tom Hockensmith began serving his first term as a Polk County Supervisor in January 2003, currently representing Polk County’s 4th District which includes North Des Moines, East Des Moines, parts of Southeast Des Moines, Runnells, Camp Township, Four Mile Township, as well as a portion of Saylor Township. Prior to redistricting in 2012, he represented Polk County’s 3rd District, which included the cities of Alleman, Altoona, Bondurant, Elkhart, Mitchellville, Pleasant Hill, Polk City, and Runnells.

Tom’s previous professional experience includes positions as a policy advisor for Iowa Governor Thomas J. Vilsack, a union representative for American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) and as an electrician for the Iowa Department of Transportation. 

Supervisor Hockensmith represents the Board of Supervisors on the Correctional Services Board of Directors, Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, Metro Waste Authority, Polk County Assessor’s Liaison Conference Board Committee, and Polk County Risk Management Committee Board.

Tom has lived and worked in Polk County for more than 40 years.  Tom and his wife have four children and seven grandchildren.  He is an avid supporter of youth athletics in East Des Moines and is the past president of the East High Alumni.

Contact Us

Polk County Administration Building
111 Court Avenue, Room 300
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3120
FAX: (515) 323-5225