Supervisor’s Office

Polk County Board Elects New Leadership

Friday, January 2, 2015



DES MOINES, Iowa – January 2, 2015 — The Polk County Board of Supervisors took action today to elect Angela Connolly, 2nd District Supervisor, as its new Chairperson and Tom Hockensmith, 4th District Supervisor, as Vice-Chairperson for 2015 in the first official public meeting of the new year.  Supervisor Connolly was elected in 1998, and most recently served as the Board’s Chairperson in 2012. 

“Supervisor Mauro provided exceptional leadership throughout 2014 and we celebrated many successes, such as the opening of the Crisis Observation Center and starting work on the courthouse campus renovations” stated Supervisor Connolly.  “I look forward to serving as the Board of Supervisors Chair in 2015 as the Board continues to work on courthouse renovations and finding a way to bring an attached hotel to the Iowa Events Center. I also hope that we can focus our efforts on finding ways to reduce homelessness and hunger in Polk County, provide better services to people with mental health and substance abuse issues, and continue to participate in wellness initiatives in Polk County.”    

Polk County elected officials received their oath of office at today’s meeting with the Honorable Judge of the Fifth Judicial District Eliza Ovrom presiding. Supervisor Tom Hockensmith began serving his fourth term and Supervisor John Mauro began his fifth term of office after serving as Chair last year. Other elected officials who received the oath of office at the meeting were Polk County Attorney John Sarcone, Polk County Treasurer Mary Maloney and Polk County Recorder Julie Haggerty.

Polk County Supervisors hold regular weekly public meetings every Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. in Room 120 of the Polk County Administration Building, 111 Court Avenue, Des Moines and on Wednesdays at 9:30 a.m. as needed.


Contact Us

Polk County Administration Building
111 Court Avenue, Room 300
Des Moines, IA 50309

Phone: (515) 286-3120
FAX: (515) 323-5225