To insure all documents are completed correctly read both seller and buyer responsibilities. All documents are to be completed in dark ink. Seller's responsibility:
The seller shall complete the "Assignment of Title" section located on the back of the title document with:
- Buyer(s) name and address on the assignment line. Up to three names may be listed as owners on a title.
- Date of Sale
- Signature of seller signed in dark ink.
If the vehicle is jointly owned and the word 'or' appears as the name connector, only one signature and printed name is required to sell the vehicle. Otherwise, all signatures and printed names are required.
The buyer shall complete the following:
- Complete the Application for "Certificate of Title" portion of the title or obtain a separate Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration form (Form number 411007). All buyers must include printed full legal name, Iowa driver’s license number or Iowa state identification number or Social Security number, and date of birth.
- Purchase price must be declared. If there will be no lien on the new title, print "none" after the words "If none, so state." in the security interest information area. If there is a lien, provide all information as requested in that area.
- All buyers are required to sign the "Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration".
- The buyer has 30 days from the date of sale to complete the transfer to avoid title and registration penalty. The buyer can only drive the vehicle for 30 days without plates as long as the vehicle is currently licensed and not in the seller’s grace month.
- How much will this cost? You may link to the Fee Estimator Worksheet which will give you an estimate of the fees due.
Fee Estimator Worksheet
Iowa Application for Iowa Title and/or Registration Form