Get your driver's license reinstated through revamped program

Published 3/27/2023 4:34:03 PM

Many Polk County residents who have lost their driving privileges can now get their licenses reinstated more quickly and through payments based on their incomes.

The Polk County Attorney’s Office has revamped its License Reinstatement Program, for people whose driver’s license has been suspended or will be suspended soon for failing to pay traffic fines. The program allows people to get a driver’s license back while making monthly payments.

Previously, the program required a minimum $100 initial payment and a monthly payment of at least $50. Now, the office is using an ability-to-pay calculator, and the initial and monthly payments will be based on income so it’s truly affordable for everyone. 

“A suspended license prevents people from legally driving to work, driving their kids to school or daycare, driving to medical appointments and more,” said Polk County Attorney Kimberly Graham. “Dangerous drivers should lose their licenses, but not people who simply cannot afford to pay a traffic ticket. These changes will allow people with low incomes to get their licenses reinstated and prevent them from receiving future citations for driving with a suspended license.”

In addition, applicants will now be notified within 7 to 10 business days as to the status of their application in the program. Previously, they were notified in four to six weeks.

About 600 people are currently enrolled in the County’s License Reinstatement Program.

People who are barred from driving, because of OWIs or other offenses, must contact the Iowa Department of Transportation to apply for a temporary restricted license before applying for the License Reinstatement Program. People who owe child support payments, victim restitution, or civil fines are not eligible for the program, due to restrictions in state law.

The program was temporarily suspended because of a staffing shortage. In some cases, residents must reapply if they applied between Dec. 15, 2022, and Jan. 19, 2023.

To learn more about the program, see License Reinstatement Program - Polk County Iowa

To apply, go to Home - Collections Portal (