Watershed Management Authority

In 2010, Iowa lawmakers passed legislation authorizing the creation of Watershed Management Authorities. A Watershed Management Authority (WMA) is a mechanism for cities, counties, Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) and stakeholders to cooperatively engage in watershed planning and management.  Since 2010, Polk County has joined and participated in five WMAs where we have undertaken watershed activities including:

  • Assess and reduce flood risk
  • Assess and improve water quality
  • Monitor federal flood risk planning and activities
  • Educate residents of the watersheds regarding flood risks and water quality
  • Allocate funding for watershed improvements

To learn more about WMA Watershed efforts follow the links below:

Watershed Management Authorities in Iowa

Fourmile Creek Watershed Management Authority

Walnut Creek Watershed Management Authority

Mud Camp Spring Watershed Management Authority

Central Iowa WMA 2022 Annual Report

For additional information about Water Resources or to discuss concerns contact:

John Swanson, Water Resources Supervisor

(515) 875-5880


Polk County is accepting applications from qualified candidates to develop and lead programs to increase landowner education and/or a method of using profitability as a tool to further conservation practice adoption. Click here for full grant description and application information.