County Sheriff Background Image

Weapon Permits

Hours: Monday - Friday

8:00 am - 3:30 pm For Cash Transactions

Weapons Permit Information Updated 12/18/2017

The Patrol Division Manages the issuance of Weapons Permits.  The permits will be issued from the county a person resides but will be printed at a central location and mailed.  It will be a standard permit for the entire state of Iowa in the form of a plastic card.  

Effective July 8, 2013, Weapons Permits may be ordered online with the option to pay using a credit / debit card.  Paper applications will no longer be accepted. There is a $5 convenience fee for all credit / debit card orders.  Requests submitted as online application require you to attach documents to complete the application.

Cash payments may be made in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa. THIS LOCATION IS CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.  Applications filed at the kiosk can be completed in one visit if the all proper documentation is presented at time of application.

How do I obtain a Permit to Carry?

You may submit an application online at ONLINE PERMIT TO CARRY

*Please note that the Online Permit To Carry website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, Iowa and use the kiosk.  THIS LOCATION IS CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

All orders require a valid email address to communicate the status of your order.  You will be notified via email whether your application has been approved or denied.  You will be required to attach your training documentation and DL for the application to be complete. As required by the State of Iowa, you must provide training documentation to receive a Permit to Carry. The address on your application must be your current address and match the address on your identification.

Effective July 1, 2017, a new permit to carry requires a fee of $50 and a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation.  It also requires a training class taken within the previous 24 months or a DD214 with honorable/under honorable discharge. The permits are valid for five years from the date of issue.  If the permit is denied, $35.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant. The Sheriff's Office will retain the remainder for processing and handling of the application.

Effective July 1, 2017, renewing your current permit to carry requires a fee of $25, a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. The permits are valid for five years from the date of issue. If the renewal is denied, $15.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant. The Sheriff's Office will retain the remained for processing and handling of the application. 

Renewal applications will be accepted by the Sheriff's Office under 30 days prior to expiration and up to 30 days after expiration. The permit expires on the date on the card-no grace period for carrying. No additional training is needed just present current permit. Failure to do so may leave the permit holder without a valid permit and will require a new application. For more information, please call (515) 286-3306.

 

How do I obtain a Permit to Acquire Weapons?

You may submit an application online at ONLINE PERMIT TO ACQUIRE

*Please note that the Online Permit To Acquire website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

If you choose not to apply online, you may apply in person at Patrol Headquarters, 6023 NE 14th Street, Des Moines, IowaTHIS LOCATION IS CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

All orders require a valid email address to communicate the status of your order.  You will be notified via email whether your application has been approved or denied.  You will be required to attach your DL for the application to be compete.  The address on your application must match the address on your identification.

A permit to acquire weapons requires a fee of $25.00 and a valid driver's license or non-operator I.D. that contains your photograph and current address issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. A permit to acquire is valid for 5 years from the date of issue.  If the permit is denied, $15.00 will be reimbursed to the applicant. The Sheriff's Office will retain the remainder for processing and handling of the application.

For more information, please call 515-286-3306.

 

How do I check the status of a Weapons Permit for Polk County?

You may check the status of a weapons permit for "POLK COUNTY" online:

https://permitcheck.permitium.com/


Sheriff's Office Closures and Information COVID-19