Emergency Management Commission

The Local Emergency Management Commission is created in Iowa Code Chapter 29C  and ruled by Iowa Administrative Code Section 605, Chapter 7. Local emergency management governance, authority, fiscal responsibility, organization, and programs are set forth in these documents.

Membership on the Emergency Management Commission is designated in this Code Section and includes the following members: the Mayor from each municipality in the county, a representative of the County Board of Supervisors, and the County Sheriff.

The Commission is required by law to hire an Emergency Management Coordinator (EMC) who is charged with carrying out the program of the Emergency Management Agency (EMA). The Administrative Code outlines the qualifications and training required of the Coordinator, as well as the responsibilities of the Coordinator in implementing the emergency management program.

Please click Here for the Emergency Management Commission By-Laws.

Commission Members 

City of Alleman

City of Altoona

City of Ankeny

City of Bondurant

Polk County Board of Supervisors

City of Clive

City of Des Moines

City of Elkhart

City of Grimes

City of Johnston

City of Mitchellville

City of Pleasant Hill

City of Polk City

City of Runnells

Polk County Sheriff

City of Urbandale

City of West Des Moines

City of Windsor Heights

Commission Meetings 

The Polk County Emergency Management Commission meets at 2:00 pm on the 3rd Wednesdays of February, May, August and November.  Meeting location is the Polk County Emergency Operations Center, 1907 Carpenter Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314.

Commission Agendas and Minutes

Click Here.


Recent Disaster Information Recent Disaster Information