Property Tax Relief

Senior & Disabled Property Tax Credit

The Iowa legislature passed a bill which expanded eligibility of the property tax credit based on household income for claimants aged 70 years or older. Those aged 70 years or older with higher household incomes now qualify for the property tax credit in 2022 and subsequent years.

The income tables below show household income qualifications for 2022 property tax credit claims for the following age groups:

  • 65-69
  • Totally disabled aged 18+
  • 70 and older.

The income requirements change annually. Claimants will receive a credit equal to the difference between property taxes due during the current year an application is submitted, minus the property taxes due in the first year a claim was filed. 

IMPORTANT: Claimants aged 70+ MUST file a claim each year in order to receive the maximum benefit of the new tax credit. 


Iowa Property Tax Credit Claim (54-001) | 2023 Version

Senior and Disabled Property Tax Credit | Ages 65-69 or Totally Disabled Age 18+

Eligibility requirements:

  1. Iowa resident as of December 31, 2022.
  2. Total household income less than $24,354.
  3. Age 65 to 69 years by December 31, 2022 or totally disabled and age 18 or older by December 31, 2022.
  4. Lived in the property during any part of the fiscal year from July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023.

The maximum credit or reimbursement for any household is $1,000.00.

Senior and Disabled Property Tax Credit | Age 70+

Eligibility requirements:

  1. Iowa resident as of December 31, 2022.
  2. Total household income falling within the Income Guidelines below.
  3. Age 70 or older by December 31.
  4. Lived in the property during any part of the fiscal year from July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023.

2022 Household Income Guidelines
for Persons Age 70 and Over

If number of persons in family/household is:

and total household income is less than:

















For families/households with more than 8 persons, add $11,350 for each additional person.


The maximum credit or reimbursement for any household is $1,000.00.

Mobile/Manufactured Home Reduced Tax Rate


Iowa Mobile/Manufactured/Modular Home Owner Application for Reduced Rate | 2023 Version

Eligibility requirements:

    1. Iowa Resident as of December 31, 2022.
    2. Total 2021 household income was less than $24,354.
    3. Age 23 or older as of December 31, 2022 or head of household on December 31st, 2022 is not yet twenty-three years and is not totally disabled and is not claimed as a dependent on any other person’s tax return for 2021.
    4. Rented the property during any part of 2022.

Military Exemptions, Homestead Credits, and Tax Abatements

Military exemptions, homestead credits, and tax abatements are administered by the Polk County Assessor's Office. Contact the Polk County Assessor for assistance. 

Property Tax Suspension Program

The Polk County Property Tax Suspension Program is administered by Polk County Adult Services and provides financial relief to qualifying individuals by suspending or redeeming their property taxes on residential properties so that they can remain in their homes. Owners of suspended properties can repay the suspended taxes at any time.

When the property is sold, suspended taxes are to be paid by the seller, or the estate, if the property owner is deceased.

Who Qualifies?

To qualify you must:

  • Live in the property you are requesting suspension for.
    • There is an exception for those living in congregate/nursing care.
  • Own the property or be in the process of purchasing the property.
    • If purchasing, must have written consent from the lender or seller.
  • Qualify based on age, disability, or military status based on one or more of the following:
    • 65 or older as of December 31 the year the petition is filed
    • 55 or older and the surviving spouse of someone who would be 65+ if still living
    • 100% disabled as shown by receipt of disability income (SSI, SSDI), other disability income, or a physician’s statement if application for disability is still in process
    • Deployed on active military duty
      • Suspension is only valid for the duration of the deployment

What are the property and income guidelines?

  • The maximum value of the property cannot exceed $180,000
  • Income cannot exceed:
    • $41,400 for a single person household
    • $47,280 for a two person household

Other Requirements:

  • The property must undergo a yearly home visit.
  • Properties that have a mortgage, a reverse mortgage, or are under contract require written consent from the lender.

Not sure if you qualify for property tax suspension or have additional questions? Check out this list of FAQs or Call 515-286-3205 for assistance!

REMINDER: Beginning January 2023, all Title Appointments must be made in advance. Click here to schedule an appointment