Vehicle Title Transfers

Vehicle title transfers must be completed in the applicant's county of residence. 

A new owner has 30 days to present the properly assigned title to their county treasurer so that a title can be issued in the new owner’s name. Penalties apply after 30 days.

Vehicle title transfers are by appointment only.

An appointment is required to transfer a vehicle title, and encouraged for all transations. 

Learn more.

Completing a Title Transfer

To ensure that there are no delays in processing your application, please read the instructions below before proceeding.

Getting Started

Review the checklist of required documents and the application/title assignment guides to ensure that all application and title paperwork is filled out properly before submission.

Please note that the checklist and guides do not cover all circumstances including transfers of titles upon the death of an owner, etc. 

If you have questions regarding a title transfer with special circumstances, please contact us for assistance at 515-286-3030.

Application Checklist

Application & Title Assignment Guides:

Commonly Used Vehicle Transfer Forms

All documents are to be completed in black or blue ball-point pen and either mailed or dropped in our drop box (with all required supporting documents) located at the front of our building.

Estimate Title & Registration Fees

Use the Iowa DOT Fee Estimator tool to determine title & registration fees due. This tool is NOT compatible with mobile devices.


  • On top of page, hover over 'Tools' menu and select 'Dealer Inquiry'
  • Select 'Fee Estimator'
    • Use this feature to estimate fees due on a newly acquired vehicle and calculate:
      • Registration & title fees
      • Security interest recording fees
      • Use tax
      • Credit from a vehicle that has been sold, traded, or junked

Transfer Plates & Unused Vehicle Registration to New Vehicle

If you have sold a vehicle and would like to transfer the remaining balance of the vehicle registration to another purchased vehicle, you have six months from the date of sale of the original vehicle to do so.


  • The calculated unused portion of the registration fee must be $10 or more
  • The plate number and VIN of the vehicle sold must be listed on the Iowa Application for Title and/or Registration.

Regular hours are Monday - Friday, 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Third Thursday, 9 a.m - 4:30 p.m. For faster sevice, schedule an appointment.